Close

Reviews and Praise for Eugenia Kim's Books

Eugenia Kim is the Winner of the 2009 Borders Original Voices Award for her debut novel, The Calligrapher’s Daughter. Her new release, The Kinship of Secrets, will be published this year. 

The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

The Kinship of Secrets

Inspired by a true story, The Kinship of Secrets is the riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart. Are the bonds of love strong enough to reconnect their family over distance, time, and war?

The Calligrapher's Daughter

Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher’s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

Min Jin Lee, author of Pachinko

“… a beautiful allegory of loss and recovery. Through the parallel growth of two separated sisters, Kim bears witness to the fall and rise of nation and its resilient and generous people.”

Booklist

“Kim opens a window into a vanished world in this sensitively rendered homage to her mother’s life…[an] achingly beautiful tribute to female perseverance and survival.”

Viet Thanh Nguyen, author of The Sympathizer

A graceful, poignant, and moving portrayal of one family’s struggle to remain a family through decades of war, migration, and separation.

Read more reviews

The Washington Post

“. . . An illuminating prequel to present-day events. . . . The narrative is keenly and often lyrically observed. . . . A satisfying excursion into empathetically rendered lives.” —Sybil Steinberg

Read more reviews

Reviews and Praise for Eugenia Kim's Books

Eugenia Kim is the Winner of the 2009 Borders Original Voices Award for her debut novel, The Calligrapher’s Daughter. Her new release, The Kinship of Secrets, will be published this year. 

The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
The Kinship of Secrets

“In this rich debut, drawn from Kim’s family history in Korea, a headstrong girl resists tradition, her father, and an arranged marriage to live her own life.”

Min Jin Lee, author of Pachinko

“… a beautiful allegory of loss and recovery. Through the parallel growth of two separated sisters, Kim bears witness to the fall and rise of nation and its resilient and generous people.”

Read more reviews
Viet Thanh Nguyen, author of The Sympathizer

A graceful, poignant, and moving portrayal of one family’s struggle to remain a family through decades of war, migration, and separation.

The Calligrapher's Daughter

Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher’s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

Booklist

“Kim opens a window onto a vanished world in this sensitively rendered homage to her mother’s life. . . . [An] achingly beautiful tribute to female perseverance and survival.”

The Washington Post

“. . . An illuminating prequel to present-day events. . . . The narrative is keenly and often lyrically observed. . . . A satisfying excursion into empathetically rendered lives.” —Sybil Steinberg

Read more reviews